On Subcreating: Who?

This blog is a part of a series On Subcreating, where I discuss Christian creativity according to J.R.R. Tolkien. I’m hoping to turn these thoughts into a full-length book one day, so let me know what you think (and if you know any literary agents or publishers who might be interested?).


Who are you creating for?

In Tolkien’s essay On Fairy Stories, he ponders who his stories are for. Many would believe they are only for children, but he argues that there is something in them for everyone, as long as they have the heart of a child. “For that possession is necessary to all high adventure, into kingdoms both less and far greater than Faerie.” (21) This reminds me of Matthew 18:3 “And he said, ‘Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.’” It seems to me that Tolkien wrote the stories he wanted to write, that he thought children would enjoy, that he hoped might lead readers to Kingdoms greater than those he wrote about. And I think that sets a great example for how we as Christian creators should view our different audiences.

I believe there is a time when you create for yourself. Writing is such a personal, solitary activity and you have to start selfish. Write what you want to write without thinking about your audience. Your first draft is for you and you alone. Be messy. Make mistakes. Get all your thoughts, words, and feelings down on paper, in whatever random order they come out. It’s okay if these words are never shared. You don’t have to publish them. They can exist solely for you- to express yourself in a way that makes you feel better. If you do decide to share your work, your next drafts need to then consider your audience.

As Christian creatives, we need to be mindful of who might be experiencing our work. We are going to have more eyes on us, potentially scrutinizing everything we write. Even though I don’t love that and would rather err on the side of grace, we do have to honor God in our work. We don’t want to be throwing around needless cuss words. We want to spread God’s message of love in all that we do. I don’t want you to limit yourselves when it comes to audience, however. Don’t only write for Christians. Don’t only write for men. Don’t only write for people who look and sound and act just like you. Otherwise you’re preaching to the choir. Write as if anyone might pick up your book and might enjoy it and learn from it. But- here’s where it gets tricky- don’t write solely to please your audience. This is why you have to start selfish. Write the story you want to hear. If you start overly listening to your audience and the criticism, your story will start to be theirs first. It will cease to be yours and, in my opinion, cease to be good. Don’t let others dictate what you should and shouldn’t write. In the words of my favorite college professor: “I make art for everyone, just not to please everyone.” And really, when you think about it, we create for an audience of One.

Most importantly, we create for our Father, as a form of worship. He is the one who gave us this talent and passion in the first place, and His is the only opinion that truly matters. We as Christians have a responsibility to give ourselves and our gifts back to God. Use them to further His kingdom, to make His name and His love known. 

So I encourage you to create for yourself. Be selfish and write what you want to write. That first draft is all yours. When you begin to think about sharing your work, really think about who is going to read it and experience it. Make it something anyone might enjoy without overthinking every bit of feedback you may get. And above all, write to worship your Father. We are image-bearers made with a desire to create because He is the Creator. He is filled with joy when His children use their gifts. 

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10


If you like what you read, share it with your friends. Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @kdsubcreations. Subscribe to my email list to receive monthly emails including blog highlights, book recommendations, updates on my writing projects, and the occasional free perk. Thank you so much for coming on this journey with me.

Tags:

Responses to “On Subcreating: Who?”

  1. On Subcreating – Keela Dee Subcreations

    […] of sharing stories. Tolkien goes on to discuss who these stories are for, which helps us understand who we are creating […]

    Like

  2. On Subcreating: What? – Keela Dee Subcreations

    […] into tiny little boxes. And while it is important to consider your audience, like I mentioned in my last post in this series, I don’t think these labels are super important. Just write the story you want to […]

    Like

  3. On Subcreating: How? – Keela Dee Subcreations

    […] his term “subcreation,” has shaped my entire writing philosophy, because it shows me the who, what, where, why, and how of Christian creativity. I discussed many questions we should consider […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started