Minimalism: Sentimental Items

If you’re anything like me, then you have a hope chest or a storage space or a box in your closet full of precious, sentimental items. You wouldn’t dare get rid of anything in there, because they are attached to a special person or memory. But, you also don’t use anything in there and you rarely poke around through there for a walk down memory lane. So why do you really have it?

Y’all, before minimalism struck me and before I had another person move into my space with me, I was the worst offender. No joke, I kept the disposable coffee cup that once contained the first cup of coffee I truly enjoyed. I had movie ticket stubs, birthday cards dating back to when I was 9, and boxes upon boxes of pictures. I had that hope chest so packed full of stuff, that once while moving, the bottom of it dropped out because it was so heavy. 

But what I’ve recently learned is that there’s a healthier and more enjoyable way to preserve those memories. First of all, I went through my hope chest and disregarded all the things that were not that important, like the coffee cup and random toys from my childhood. Then I thought of some unique ways to display or use some of the other things left in there. Pictures could go in a scrapbook where I might actually look at them. I turned my movie ticket stubs into an art piece that hangs on my wall (and I’ve stopped collecting them- they’re mostly just receipts now anyway). My mom made me a blanket out of all my high school band shirts. Now I get to see those memories every day and actually make them useful, as opposed to them collecting dust in my hope chest.

But what about those memories that are tied to a specific person, maybe someone who isn’t here anymore? Like I have a ton of things from my grandmother who passed away when I was 10. Part of me doesn’t want to dishonor her memory by getting rid of some of these things, but am I really honoring her by keeping her things tucked away in a box? I have some cookware of hers in my kitchen cabinet, and I use it. Her cookbook is on my shelf and I have some recipes tabbed. A blanket she made is draped over the back of my couch. I’ve incorporated those special things into my daily life and that makes it feel like Granny’s memory is still here, all around me. I still have a lot of jewelry of hers, and if it’s not the kind of stuff I would wear, maybe I could just keep one necklace that really reminds me of her, put it in a special place, and then give the rest to my sister or cousin who might really enjoy having them. It’s a process and I’m still working through it because it is hard to let go of these things. 

What’s important to remember is that the memory of those people do not live in things. Yes, things can trigger specific memories of them, but their heart, their legacy lives in each of us. Maybe take a photo of those sentimental items and then let them go to someone who will use them or get a lot of value from them. I’m not telling you to purge all of your precious memories- I definitely still have things in my hope chest. I’m just letting you know that you can incorporate those things into your daily lives to honor those memories, without them taking up a ton of space and collecting dust in a box, especially if having an abundance of sentimental items stresses you out.

I encourage you to take a walk down memory lane today. Look through those sentimental items and really assess what things you value and what things you don’t. Don’t hold onto things just out of guilt. Also, a ton of those birthday cards I mentioned still had money in them, so definitely do a thorough assessment before you start throwing stuff away, haha.


I am trying to build up a platform for my upcoming book, and I would greatly appreciate your support. If you like what you read, share it with your friends. Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @kdsubcreations. Subscribe to my email list to receive monthly emails including blog highlights, book recommendations, and updates on my writing projects. Thank you so much for coming on this journey with me.

Tags:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started