Big Goals

As you can no doubt tell from my several blog posts on the subject, the matter of my physical health is an up and down battle. I have periods where I do really well and other times when I fail miserably and get discouraged. I’ve tried various kinds of diets, eating plans, and apps to help me eat healthier. I’ve tried running and biking and climbing and push-uping to try to lose weight. I’ve tried giving up junk food cold turkey and allowing myself cheat days and limiting my portion size. Absolutely none of it has stuck, because, frankly, I hate working out and I’m addicted to food. When I have a good day, I want to celebrate with something yummy. When I have a bad day, I want to wallow with something yummy. When I’m tired and don’t want to cook, I want to go out and get something yummy. When I’m full of energy, I want to go out and get something yummy. There is no feeling in the world that makes me want to get on the stationary bike or to cook quinoa and vegetables. There is no self-control I have been able to find that allows me to say no when there are muffins in the break room. But, recently, I’ve just had to change my mindset a little bit, evaluate my five-year plan, and I’ve come to maybe, just maybe find a way that makes it a little bit easier to make healthier choices and say no to my impulses. I just have to keep the big goals in mind.

You’ve heard those ridiculous sayings, on Pinterest or Friends, “a moment on the lips, forever on the hips” or “nothing tastes as good as skinny feels” or something along those lines. Even though it comes off as condescending and a bit body-shamy, the ultimate message they are trying to get across is not to sacrifice your big goals for something small in the moment.

This is something that can be applied to many aspects of life: don’t buy the video game now so you can save for a house later. Don’t kiss the idiot now so you can marry the prince later. Don’t have a drink now so you can be five-years sober later. Don’t eat the muffin now so you can be at a healthy BMI later.

And I don’t know about you, but my big goals are extremely important to me. My big health goals include: not getting diabetes, having healthy pregnancies, being around to spend time with my grandchildren. And when I have diabetes on both sides of my family and the baby thing is getting closer and closer in my sight, this is becoming even more important to me. 

All I have to do is have a few moments of self-control in the break room, a few moments of determination to get on the bike, a few moments of Pinterest inspiration to cook something healthy and delicious, and I’m a few steps closer to my goals. 

Being healthier doesn’t have to be hard and doesn’t have to be unbearable. You can still eat yummy things, find exercise you enjoy, and get to a healthier weight. The key is to change your mindset about the whole process so that it seems awesome, and to keep your big goals in mind so that it’s worth it.

Tags:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started