October 2018 – Happiness in my Rearview Mirror

Texans tend to have this little quirk where we are overly proud of our state. We are pridefully boastful of the beauty and food and friendship that Texas is associated with. I must admit, I have found myself cringing at Michigan-shaped necklaces or the entire state of Oklahoma, purely out of an immense love of Texas. It’s kind of ridiculous, but that’s ok. Because Texas does in fact have our own unique history. We do have a sense of community with our fellow Texans. We have amazing land and we grow and make and produce amazing things that are worthy to be proud. None of these are bad things. Texas rocks!

But what makes this state so precious to me is the fact that it’s my home. I know, we all grew up somewhere and we all think our hometown and homestate is the best. We all have wonderful life-changing memories that molded us into the people we are now. And, honestly, yes, that’s what makes Texas amazing to me. It is my home. A home that I never want to leave. Because I have the best of both worlds here. I live out in a small town where there are hardly any lights or traffic or sounds all through the night. But I am a short distance from the amazing city of Austin if I want to see a concert or eat at a fun restaurant or go to a roller derby championship. I can drive a bit the other direction and go hiking or zip-lining or water-skiing. My hometown and friends and family are all within reach, but there are still tons of new places that I have never been in Texas. So many more adventures to be had and sights to be seen and people to be introduced to.

So I have recently labeled myself the Central Texas Storyteller because I’m currently right smack dab in the middle of a lot of exciting things in our state, and I plan to have adventures and visit new places and tell new stories for the rest of my life, because this is my home and I want to keep exploring it forever.

Tags:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started