February 2019 – My Cauldron of Story

If you’ve noticed from my posts this month, these tv shows, movies, books and games are about so much more than an easy form of entertainment. They have crafted my personality and influenced my writing. Much of my humor comes from these things (out of the heart the mouth speaks, so be careful with that, folks!). If you hear me speak with my friend, Ashlea, you may get hints of Junie B. Jones talk. If you hear me converse with my sister, you may catch several Office references in one conversation. If you read my writing, you will notice subtle hints of Disney tropes, Tim O’Brien structure, and Lemony Snicket sarcasm. But it’s so much more than that. These fandoms give me a way to look at life in a different way.

We grew up as kids with Disney movies and Mario games that might seem cheesy at first, but they were teaching us to persevere and have hope in a better tomorrow. To work hard for your goals and to make true friends along the way. Other stories serve as a form of escapism from the harsh realities of life. No, it’s not good to become obsessed and completely block out the world, but if you’ve had a hard day at work, sometimes it helps to watch Leslie Knope also have a hard day at work. Or to completely escape reality in a blue box. Or to feel productive and powerful by playing a video game and conquering a milestone. But even more so, I have very strong memories and experiences that go along with these stories as well.When I think about Harry Potter, I think about my friend Hannah buying me my first wand and taking me along to Leaky Con where we were in the freaking presence of Seamus Finnegan and young Tom Riddle. When I think about Star Wars, Doctor Who, or Lord of the Rings, I think about falling in love with my husband and getting excited with him about nerdy things. When I think about The Office, I think about Thursday nights with my family, bus rides on band trips, and even senior year economics with my friends.

If you’re still not getting it, listen to the song Netflix Trip by AJR. It explains what I’m getting at perfectly. We grew up with these beautiful forms of entertainment, and as long as we don’t abuse them, they can have an amazing effect on our lives. I am inspired to create every single time I come into contact with one of these stories. I learn new words and new jokes and new references to throw into conversations. I feel confident when I beat a strong boss fight. I remember my family, my friends, and my unique experiences I connect to these fandoms and I am happy. I am given advice and hope (and a lot of these stories, whether intentional or not, mirror Jesus’ story) that helps me make it through the tough times. So hopefully through this month you learned a little more about me and maybe even got some ideas for new things you need to check out. And hopefully you understand that my fandoms are not just some silly, negative obsession, but an intregral (to quote Michael Scott) part of my writing and my life. They make up my Cauldron of Story and I love them.

Tags:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started