December 2018 – Me on a Canvas

I’ve mentioned several times throughout this month that I’m just doing what I love. I’ve been writing stories and drawing pictures and making videos since before I can remember. Keela Dee Subcreations is a way for me to channel all my passions into something unique and beautiful that tells my story and serves my God. I absolutely love it. I love sharing what God has done in my life in as many ways as possible.

But in a world that hates to read in a society that is especially harsh on social media, it is tough. I get discouraged a lot, thinking no one is ever going to buy or read my books. No one is going to publish my poetry. No one is going to like my instagram posts. I am never going to make money doing this. But then I have to remind myself that I’m not doing this for fame or fortune. I am doing this for myself and my God. If it is in His will for me to become a well-known author, then that will happen in His time, not mine. And if not, He has something much greater in store for me. That’s what I’m trying to figure out in this soul-searching year. I know putting a time limit on God never works, but I’m just hoping to learn a little more about myself and what my next steps might be. In the meantime, I am going to keep creating and keep praying that God points me in the right direction.For anyone else out there who has similar feelings of discouragement or inadequacy when it comes to your life or your work or your purpose, I just want to let you know that if you are creating anything at all (whether it’s a lesson plan or a table or a drawing or a video or a thesis etc etc etc), you have already accomplished a great deal. And even if no one gives you credit, keep on working. It’s okay if you only touch one person and it’s okay if that person is you. Don’t let the haters get you down;P

And, while we’re on the subject, don’t be a hater either. It is hard as heck to do anything in this world and it only gets harder if we don’t support one another. So, to steal a beautiful sentiment from a beautiful lady named Hannah…If you wrote something, I want to read it. If you drew something, I want to see it. If you made music, I want to hear it. I am so proud of everything that you have done and are doing and will do. Let me know what’s going on in your life and I will support you like crazy!

Tags:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started